DMICE Professor Karen Eden Receives 2017 School of Medicine Service Award


Congratulations to Karen Eden, Ph.D., professor of medical informatics and clinical epidemiology, who received the 2017 Service Award for the OHSU School of Medicine, as part of the Distinguished Faculty Awards sponsored by the OHSU Faculty Senate. The award was announced on May 25, 2017.

Dr. Eden was one of four nominees for outstanding service within the school. According to the nomination, “Dr. Karen Eden volunteers for service on committees not with the aim of fulfilling her obligations as a faculty member, or for personal accolades, but to truly improve our environment.”

Upon receiving the award, Dr. Eden said, “It was a great honor to be selected to receive the School of Medicine Service Award. I want to recognize the incredible DMICE educational staff, graduate students and my colleagues who made this possible.”

Dr. Eden currently serves on the Faculty Senate, Diversity Advisory Council, OHSU Graduate Council, and Graduate Program Steering Committee. She also continues to serve as ex-Officio on the Women in Academic Medicine committee as a past co-chair.. She is also the associate director of the Patient Centered-Outcomes Research K12 career development program. Within DMICE, Dr. Eden is associate director of the pre- and post-doctoral programs and directs the health and clinical informatics track of the biomedical informatics graduate program.

Last year, Dr. Eden was honored to be selected by DMICE graduates to serve as an usher at graduation. This graduation she will assist with the hooding of DMICE graduates.

“We are thrilled for Dr. Eden,” said DMICE Chair William Hersh, M.D. “Karen’s service at the departmental, school, university, and national levels is unparalleled. That she is able to provide this while maintaining a busy portfolio of research and activities is all the more impressive.”

The Distinguished Faculty Awards program was established by the Faculty Senate to recognize outstanding performance by members of the faculty. There are six categories that rotate among the schools on an annual basis: teaching, leadership, excellence, services, research, and collaboration.