Congratulations to DMICE Graduates of 2018!

As Oregon Health & Science University celebrated commencement on Sunday, June 3, 2018, at the Oregon Convention Center, the Department of Medical Informatics and Clinical Epidemiology (DMICE) had 41 students who had completed or were set to complete their degrees this academic year, between fall term of 2017 and summer term of 2018.

OHSU held a convocation for graduates of all its schools, followed by hooding ceremonies for the individual schools. At the School of Medicine hooding and completion ceremony, Karen Eden, Ph.D., professor, announced the graduates for the biomedical informatics program. Ph.D. students Aurora Blucher and Dana Womack were hooded by their advisers, Shannon McWeeney, Ph.D., professor and vice chair, and Michelle Hribar, Ph.D., assistant professor, respectively. Those who attended are shown below.

Convocation attendees, left to right: Shannon McWeeney, Lisa Karstens, Michelle Hribar, Derrick Hee, Ben Lawrence,  Gretchen Scholl, Mark Klick, Yuanye Christie Lu, Vincent Caruso, Lindsey Watson, Aurora Blucher, Dana Womack, Karen Eden.

“It is exciting to see the new graduates finishing their studies and going off to do great things in informatics,” said William Hersh, MD, DMICE professor and chair. “We now have 692 alumni of the program who have received 757 degrees and certificates dating back to the start of our program in 1996.”

Graduates of the biomedical informatics program this academic year include:

Doctor of Philosophy in Biomedical Informatics

Aurora Skye Blucher

Dissertation: The Cancer Targetome and its Application to a Pathway Perspective on Targeted Therapy Response in Acute Myeloid Leukemia

Nathan H. Lazar

Dissertation: A Bayesian Tensor Factorization Algorithm to Predict Drug Response in Cancer Cell Lines

Dana Marie Womack

Dissertation: Recognition of Hospital Work System Strain through Knowledge Elicitation, Multi-source Data Integration and Analysis

Master of Science in Biomedical Informatics

Vincent Matthew Caruso

Steven R. Chamberlin

Erin Nicole Hickman

Mark T. Klick

Jason Jensen Li

Adam Therneau

Andrew Wen

Master of Biomedical Informatics

Mitzi Lynn Boardman

David Yale Gelman

Derrick Bowen Hee

Lawrence Hsu

Ilya Ivlev

Banjamin Lee Lawrence

Yuanye Lu

Raghavendra Mishra

Srinivas Reddy Mummadi

Maximilian Nobunori Schimpf

Jonathan Michael Tan

Amy Yunhsin Wang

Lindsey Kiley Watson

Theodore Brady Wright

Graduate Certificate in Biomedical Informatics

David Boston

Yee T. Chang

Maya Lynn Dewan

Daria Ferro

Noah Finkel

Laura L. Hickerson

Evan William Orenstein

Allison Lynn Owen

Sang Su Pak

Gretchen Roxanne Scholl

Daniel Nathan Seitz

Antenor P. Vilceus

Elizabeth S. Zentzis