Patty Langasek Awarded OHSU Dr. Frank Naeymi-Rad and Dr. Theresa A. Kepic Endowed Scholarship for Biomedical Informatics

The Department of Medical Informatics & Clinical Epidemiology (DMICE) is pleased to announce that the 2019-2020 Dr. Frank Naeymi-Rad and Dr. Theresa A. Kepic Endowed Scholarship for Biomedical Informatics will be awarded to Patty Langasek. Ms. Langasek is a PhD student in the Bioinformatics and Computational Biomedicine Major of the OHSU Biomedical Informatics Graduate Program.

A goal of Ms. Langasek’s research is to improve sleep and circadian health by improving the capture of data from the electronic health record (EHR) related to sleep health for the diagnosis and treatment of sleep disorders. It has been well established that optimal sleep habits, including the diagnosis and treatment of sleep disorders, improve patient well-being, reduce occupational accidents, and reduce the development and/or worsening of cardiac disease, stroke, diabetes mellitus, and other disorders. However, data related to sleep health and disease is often under-captured in the EHR in part due to the lack of standardized and controlled terminology.

Ms. Langsaek’s work will enhance 1-2 sleep use cases focused on the most common sleep disorders (insomnia and sleep apnea) and develop related value sets for use in clinical sleep medicine. These will be generalizable enough that they can be used as a basis for both clinically related care activities such a resource planning and billing, but also as a basis for pragmatic research-based extraction of data from the EHR.

Dr. Naeymi-Rad is the founder of Intelligent Medical Objects (IMO), Inc. and an expert in the application of standards-based terminology solutions to problems in healthcare. Dr. Kepic is an Obstetrics & Gynecology physician. The scholarship will be awarded by the Leap of Faith Foundation, which was created by Drs. Naeymi-Rad and Kepic to accelerate informatics innovation and the distribution of terminology-enabled applications from academic centers across electronic health record systems. The $5000 scholarship will be applicable to program tuition.