Director Steven Shea Receives Distinguished Service Award

AASM president Safwan Badr, MD (L), presents award to Steve Shea.

Congratulations to Oregon Institute of Occupational Health Sciences Director, Steven Shea, who received the Distinguished Service Award from the American Academy of Sleep Medicine (AASM) during the 28th Annual Meeting of the Associated Professional Sleep Societies, held May 31 – June 4 in Minneapolis, MN. The award was presented in recognition of his 5 years service on the AASM Board of Directors.

The AASM is the only professional society dedicated exclusively to the medical subspecialty of sleep medicine. With the vision of achieving optimal health through better sleep, the AASM sets standards and promotes excellence in health care, education and research. The AASM was established in 1975 as the Association of Sleep Disorders Centers, and has a combined membership of nearly 12,000 accredited member sleep centers and individual members, including physicians, scientists and other health care professionals. From insomnia to sleep apnea, the AASM considers sleep disorders an illness that has reached epidemic proportions.

The AASM mission is to improve sleep health and promote high quality patient centered care through advocacy, education, strategic research, and practice standards.