OHSU hosts John M. Brookhart lecturer William Catterall, Ph.D., June 27

The Department of Physiology and Pharmacology invites you to attend the 22nd Annual John M. Brookhart Lecture. This year, we’re pleased to be hosting William A. Catterall, Ph.D, Professor and Chair of the Department of Pharmacology at the University of Washington. Dr. Catterall will be discussing the “Structure and Function of Voltage-Gated Sodium Channels at Atomic Resolution.”

The lecture will begin at 4:00 p.m. in the Medical Student Lecture Hall, Richard Jones Hall 4320, on June 27, 2012 and will be followed by a reception in the Atrium Lobby.

About Dr. Catterall

Dr. Catterall has been Professor and Chairman of Department of Pharmacology of University of Washington since 1984. He also serves as Scientific Advisor of CombinatoRx, Incorporated.  A member of the National Academy of Sciences and the Institute of Medicine, Dr. Catterall is the recipient of numerous awards including the Passano Award, the Basic Science Prize of the American Heart Association, the National Institutes of Health Mathilde Solowey Award in Neuroscience, and the H.B. Van Dyke Award in Pharmacology from Columbia University. In 2003, he received the Bristol-Myers Squibb Award for Distinguished Achievement in Neuroscience Research. Dr. Catterall received his Ph.D. degree in physiological chemistry from Johns Hopkins School of Medicine in 1972 and his postgraduate training as a Muscular Dystrophy Association postdoctoral research fellow with Dr. Marshall Nirenberg at the National Institutes of Health.