Internal career development opportunity for clinician-scientists, due Nov. 19

The NIH-funded K12 program, Building Interdisciplinary Research Careers in Women’s Health (BIRCWH), is offering a special funding opportunity for junior faculty with a clinical doctorate degree.The goal of the BIRCWH is to develop junior faculty into leading interdisciplinary research scientists in women’s health. BIRCWH supports the full spectrum of research including basic science, clinical research, information technology, health services, patient-centered outcomes, policy, public health, behavioral, and applied research.

Deadline: November 19, 2012

Award Information: Provides salary support for 75% FTE up to $100,000 total (including other payroll expenses/fringe benefits), and up to $25,000 per year for research, supplies, and travel. The award recipient will be appointed as an OCTRI scholar, which will provide the awardee access to the core OCTRI services including statistics, IRB, regulatory compliance, etc. This award is for a minimum two-year appointment beginning January 1, 2013.

Eligibility: Applicants must be U.S. citizens or non-citizen nationals, or individuals lawfully admitted for permanent residence (by July 1, 2012), who hold a clinical or health professional doctoral degree or its equivalent, can commit a minimum of 75% full-time professional effort to conducting women’s health research, and have identified mentors with extensive research experience. Because this is an interdisciplinary research training program, applicants must have multiple mentors who represent different disciplines. Applicants must not be a PI on an R01 or K award. The applicant’s department must agree to commit at least $10,000 per year in discretionary funds to the scholar, which will contribute to the $25,000 per year amount intended for research, supplies, training, and travel.

Click here for full application and funding guidelines.

If you have questions or would like more information, please contact BIRCWH Director Jeanne-Marie Guise, MD, MPH or Program Administrator Tahroma Alligood, MPH.