Faculty honored for contributions to OHSU’s missions

At OHSU, the passion we bring to our work leads to discoveries, educational opportunities, and patient successes that literally change the world. At the heart of our success are faculty members that bring this devotion, creativity, and energy to everything that we stand for. This makes a difference not only in the eyes of other faculty members, but to students and patients as well. It is a great honor to be recognized by fellow faculty members for the many contributions that are sometimes thought as unseen.

Congratulations to this year’s Faculty Senate Awards finalists and winners (highlighted in blue).

Affiliated Units and Institutes Award
Service Award
Jeri Finn, M.S., R.D., L.D.
Bill Rooney, Ph.D.

School of Dentistry
Leadership Award
Phyllis Beemsterboer, M.S., Ed.D.
Juliana da Costa, D.D.S., M.S.
Thomas Shearer, Ph.D.
Michael Taylor, D.M.D.

School of Medicine
Research Award
Markus Grompe, M.D.
Marina Guizzetti, Ph.D.
David Huang, M.D., Ph.D.

School of Nursing
Collaboration Award
Kristen Beiers-Jones, R.N., M.N.E.
Martha Driessnack, Ph.D., P.P.C.N.P.-B.C.
Joanne Noone, Ph.D., R.N., C.N.E.
Heather Voss, R.N., M.S.N.

School of Pharmacy
Teaching Award
Gary DeLander, Ph.D.
Myrna Munar, Pharm.D.
Ali Olyaei, Pharm.D.
Oleh Taratula, Ph.D.

School of Public Health
Excellence Award
Kathleen Carlson, Ph.D.
Carrie Nielson, M.P.H., Ph.D.
Ana Quinones, Ph.D.
Elizabeth Waddell, Ph.D.

The award categories rotate among the different schools and affiliated units on an annual basis. Nominations are reviewed by committees representing individual units, and final selection is made by the OHSU Faculty Senate. The awards are supported by the OHSU Foundation. The award winners were announced at this year’s Distinguished Faculty Awards luncheon which was held on May 10.