Research Week 2017 highlights

FPP 21469239 Research Week 2017 ART RGBResearch Week 2017 consisted of three days full of events and activities celebrating the research that takes place at OHSU. More than 370 participants took part this year, including two keynote speakers, 139 poster presenters, 86 oral presenters, 11 Three Minute Thesis competitors, 61 volunteers, 69 judges, and 33 panelists at various events throughout the week.

The 3MTs brought the week to a celebratory close with awards announced at the end of the event. This year’s award recipients included:

Oral presentation winners

A few of the oral presentation winners From left to right: S. Ravisankar, V. Cochrane, A. Quackenbush, R. Hood, C. Kersch
A few of the oral presentation winners
From left to right: S. Ravisankar, V. Cochrane, A. Quackenbush, R. Hood, C. Kersch

Brett Daniel Dufour: “Corticosterone dysregulation exacerbates disease progression in the R6/2 transgenic mouse model of Huntington’s disease”
Sweta Ravisankar: “Identification of small molecules predictive of oocyte and embryo developmental potential in rhesus macaques via high-throughput metabolomics analysis”
Anna Mammel: “Myelin sheath formation in the peripheral nervous system”
Katie Truong: “Surface modification of poly(vinyl alcohol) vascular grafts for implantation”
Alexandra Quackenbush: “Lipids in weaning-induced liver involution: A role in the liver pre-metastatic niche?”
Cymon Kersch: “Interactions of metastatic HER2-positive breast cancer with the brain microenvironment”
Veronica Cochrane: “Calcium imaging illuminates leptin signaling in pancreatic β-cell”
Rebecca Lynn Hood: “Cortical disinhibition improves motor function in a progressive mouse model of Parkinson’s disease”
Canan Schumann: “Nanoparticle mediated therapy for the treatment of muscle wasting disorders”
Andrew Phillip Sill: “Practice gap in atrial fibrillation oral anticoagulation prescribing at emergency department discharge”
Michael Heskett: “Dissecting tumor heterogeneity with single cell transcriptomics”

Poster presentation winners

Three poster presentation winners From left to right:  Q. Roth-Carter, X. Ouyang, J. Lueras
Three poster presentation winners
From left to right: Q. Roth-Carter, X. Ouyang, J. Lueras

Sarah Larimer: “Intestinal colonization of a probiotic strain, lactobacillus salivarius UCC118, in critically Ill patients”
Jordan Lueras: “Longitudinal data reveals atypical development of spatial working memory brain activation in binge-drinking adolescents”
Nicole Ovregaard: A validated 7-minute tool to examine pediatric safety and quality: The Pediatric prehospital safety Event Detection System (PEDS)”
Xiaoming Ouyang: “Co-targeting epidermal growth factor receptor (EGFR) and anaplastic lymphoma kinase (ALK) overcomes EGFR inhibitor resistance in head and neck squamous cell carcinoma patient-derived models”
Rebecca Broeckel: “Novel cytomegalovirus and adenovirus vectors induce protective T cell responses to Chikungunya virus in mice”
Emily Calabro: “Resilient trait mechanisms in night, day, and rotating shift nurses: A secondary data analysis”
Erin Elizabeth Takemoto: “Insurance status differences in weight loss and regain over five years following bariatric surgery”
Lotte Elisabeth Tholen: “Evaluating miR-1246 as an onco-miR and driver of AML disease progression”
Quinn Roth-Carter: Eosinophil peroxidase increases thymic stromal lymphopoietin expression in keratinocytes”
Theodore Wright: “Improving retrieval of datasets: OHSU participation in the bioCADDIE evaluation Challenge”

Three Minute Thesis winners

First place:
Katie Lebold, M.D./Ph.D. Biomedical Engineering Graduate Program: “Maternal asthma changes airway nerve development in offspring”

Second place:
Prerna Das, M.S. student, Department of Medical Informatics and Clinical Epidemiology: “In pursuit of genetic risk factors for Alzheimer’s”

People’s Choice winner:
Ben Doron, Ph.D. student, Cancer Biology Graduate Program: “Acute Myeloid Leukemia: BAD TO THE BONE”

All three winners will represent OHSU at the statewide Three Minute Thesis competition at University of Oregon, Saturday, May 20, at 3:30 to 5:30 p.m.

Thank you to all who made Research Week 2017 a success! A special thank you to the Office of the Provost, the Office of the Senior Vice President for Research, the School of Medicine, the School of Nursing, the OHSU Library and Graduate Student Organization for providing both the financial and moral support needed to make Research Week a success. Thank you do Dr. Charles Thomas and the School of Medicine Department of Radiation Medicine for the kind support for the visit of Dr. Reshma Jagsi. Special thanks also go to all our fantastic volunteers, without whom there would be no Research Week.

The Research Week Planning Committee