Faculty honored for contributions to OHSU’s missions

At OHSU, the passion we bring to our work leads to discoveries, educational opportunities, and patient successes that literally change the world. At the heart of our success are faculty members that bring this devotion, creativity, and energy to everything that we stand for. This makes a difference not only in the eyes of other faculty members, but to students and patients as well. It is a great honor to be recognized by fellow faculty members for the many contributions that are sometimes thought as unseen.

Congratulations to this year’s Faculty Senate Awards finalists and winners (highlighted in blue).

Affiliated Units and Institutes
Teaching Award
Robin Champieux, M.L.I.S.
Tawnya Peterson, Ph.D.

School of Dentistry
Excellence Award
Luiz Bertassoni, D.D.S., Ph.D.
Sylvia Nelsen, PhD
Carmem Pfeifer, D.D.S., Ph.D.
Sivaraman Prakasam, Ph.D.

School of Medicine
Service Award
Kara Connelly, M.D.
Karen Eden, Ph.D.
David Jones, M.D.
Christina Milano, M.D.

School of Nursing
Research Award
Lissi Hansen, Ph.D., R.N.
Dena Hassouneh, Ph.D., R.N. A.N.P. P.M.H.N.P, F.A.A.N.
Christopher Lee, Ph.D., R.N., F.A.H.A., F.A.A.N., F.H.F.S.A.

College of Pharmacy
Leadership Award
Gary DeLander, Ph.D.
Theresa Filtz, Ph.D.
Mark Leid, Ph.D.

School of Public Health
Collaboration Award
Elena Andresen, Ph.D.
Dennis McCarty, Ph.D.
John Stull, M.D., M.P.H.

The award categories rotate among the different schools and affiliated units on an annual basis. Nominations are reviewed by committees representing individual units, and final selection is made by the OHSU Faculty Senate. The awards are supported by the OHSU Foundation. The award winners were announced at this year’s Distinguished Faculty Awards luncheon which was held on May 24.