Five innovative education projects awarded mini-grants

Members of the School of Medicine community embrace “outside the box” thinking when it comes to advancing the education mission. In order to spur this inventiveness, five projects designed to generate and support innovation within the school’s educational programs have been awarded mini-grants.

Faculty members, trainees, and staff in the school submitted 18 project ideas in response to the call for proposals earlier this year. The funded projects were chosen for their originality, feasibility, impact, sustainability, and plans for dissemination. The review group included members of the Educators’ Collaborative with expertise in undergraduate medical education and graduate studies programs.

The titles and team members of the funded projects are:

  • Women’s Leadership Development Program: An innovative curriculum for dissemination
    Megan Furnari, M.D., instructor in pediatric neonatology; Elizabeth Lahti, M.D., assistant professor of medicine
  • Implementation of a Jeopardy Point Study in the OHSU Internal Medicine Residency Program
    Erin Bonura, M.D., assistant professor of medicine; Claire Zeigler, M.D., M.P.H.; resident Kellie Littlefield, D.O.; Kelsey Shaver, M.D.
  • Development of a Mobile App for Entrustable Professional Activities
    Mark Engelstad, D.D.S., M.D., associate professor oral and maxillofacial surgery and NLM bioinformatics; James Morrison, M.D., clinical informatics fellow; Ryan Palmer, Ed.D., assistant professor of family medicine.
  • Innovation Support Workshops
    Aditi Martin, Ph.D., OCTRI Pilot Awards program director; Jonathan Jubera, OCTRI Biomedical Innovation Program project manager; David Ellison, M.D., professor of medicine and OCTRI director; Brendan Rauw, M.B.A., vice president of Technology Transfer and Business Development; Sarah Biber, Ph.D., OTRADI.
  • Education Scholarship Writing Group
    Jackie Wirz, Ph.D., assistant dean of Graduate Studies Student Affairs and director of the Career and Professional Development Center at the School of Medicine; Amy Miller Juve Ed. D, M.Ed., director of education and assistant professor of anesthesiology and perioperative medicine; Sylvia Nelsen, Ph.D., assistant professor of cell development and cancer biology.

Originally posted by Jennifer Smith in Inside the SoM.