Four OHSU innovators recognized at the 2018 TTBD Awards

Yali Jia, Ph.D., accepts the New Inventor of the Year award from Brendan Rauw, M.B.A., CLP, vice president of Technology Transfer and Business Development

On Feb. 8, Technology Transfer and Business Development awarded three OHSU researchers and one department for their efforts in innovation and commercialization. This annual event aims to honor members of OHSU’s clinical and research community, recognizing specific innovations, entrepreneurship, industry partnership, patents and new companies based on OHSU technology.

Yali Jia, Ph.D., was recognized as New Inventor of the Year. Associate professor of ophthalmology, she worked with TTBD to develop the split-spectrum amplitude-decorrelation angiography (SSADA) algorithm, which allows physicians to map ocular circulation down to the capillary level.

Bill Rooney, Ph.D., received the Business Development Partnership Award. Professor and director of the Advanced Imaging Research Center, Rooney has been instrumental in the success of OHSU’s partnership with GE Healthcare.

Thomas Scanlan, Ph.D., was recognized with the Technology Transfer Achievement Award for his efforts in licensing, patenting and new company creation. Scanlan, professor of physiology and pharmacology, is the founder and chair of the Scientific Advisory Board for NeuroVia, Inc., an OHSU startup company developing therapeutics for the treatment of neurological disorders.

The Oregon Clinical & Translational Research Institute was recognized with the TTBD Appreciation Award for OCTRI’s ongoing collaboration with TTBD, especially with the Biomedical Innovation Program.

TTBD also acknowledged other award recipients.

Three new companies based on OHSU technology were recognized: MotioSens, Inc.Server Dome, Inc., and Vir Biotechnology, Inc.