Nominations open for diversity award for research, due April 27

2017 Diversity and Inclusion Award recipients 2017

This is your chance to nominate a researcher for a Diversity and Inclusion Award.

Each spring, the Center for Diversity and Inclusion recognizes students, faculty, staff, and community members who have made outstanding contributions in the areas of diversity and inclusion. These are members of OHSU who have made an impact with their creativity, innovation, quality patient care, research contributions, educational excellence, and service.

Submit your nomination by
Friday, April 27, 2108.

The Diversity and Inclusion Outstanding Research Award recognizes research work that has contributed to the literature and to the field. The work can be completed or ongoing, with a focus on health disparities among underserved populations, social determinants of health, issues of diversity among varied racial and ethnic backgrounds, ageism, women’s issues, sexual orientation, or disability.

You also can submit nominations for awards in other areas. The six awards categories are:

  • Outstanding Student Leadership
  • Outstanding Alumnus/a
  • Outstanding Research
  • Outstanding Community Partner
  • Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Champion (Department, committee or program)
  • Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Champion (Individual)

Deadline to nominate is Friday, April 27, 2018. Employees or groups whose job is to deliver diversity and inclusion efforts within the scope of their work are NOT eligible for the 2018 award.

Award recipients will be announced at a special ceremony on Tuesday, June 12, 2018, 12 p.m. at the OHSU Auditorium.

Nominations must include a letter of support as outlined in the nomination form. For details on the six Diversity and Inclusion Award categories, and to submit a nomination, visit the nomination page. If you have any questions, please contact the Center for Diversity and Inclusion at 503-494-5657 or

Pictured above are the 2017 recipients: Brian Gibbs, Ph.D., M.P.A, vice president of Equity and Inclusion; David Wilson, M.D., professor and chair of Casey Eye Institute; Erin Hernandez, senior research assistant at the Casey Eye Institute; Verian Wedeking, outreach program administer for Casey Eye Institute; Sigrid Button, associate director for Casey Eye Institute; Nina Lamble, M.D., Department of Hematology and Medical Oncology; Damien Fair, Ph.D., P.A.-C., associate professor in the Department of Behavioral Neuroscience and Psychiatry; Somnath Saha, M.D., M.P.H., professor in the Department of Psychiatry; Alexandra Hernandez, Med ’19, School of Medicine; Mitch Wasden, Ed.D, executive vice president. Not pictured: Outstanding Community Partner Award recipient La Clinica Health Center.