Steve Mansoor receives 2023 ASCI Seldin~Smith Pioneering Research Award

Steven Mansoor in his lab

OHSU’s Steve Mansoor, M.D., Ph.D., was awarded the American Society for Clinical Investigation’s Donald Seldin~Holly Smith Award for Pioneering Research in a virtual ceremony on August 8, 2023. This award recognizes early-career physician-scientist leaders with the legacies of two ASCI members, Drs. Donald W. Seldin and Lloyd H. “Holly” Smith Jr.

Mansoor is Assistant Professor of Medicine, Division of Cardiovascular Medicine, and Assistant Professor of Chemical Physiology and Biochemistry at the OHSU School of Medicine. He is a practicing cardiologist. He was nominated by David Jacoby, M.D., and Richard Goodman, M.D., Ph.D. for the award. In support of the nomination, Goodman noted, “Beyond the important contributions to understanding the basic science of ion channel structure, function, and gating, Dr. Mansoor’s work has truly significant translational implications.”

Mansoor’s research involves using structural biology to address cardiovascular health. His lab focuses on  the structure, function, and signaling of ion channels and G-protein coupled receptors of the cardiovascular and central nervous systems. He and his team have resolved the structures of several P2X receptors — these important molecules are expressed in many cells, controlling or modulating processes involved in platelet activation, smooth muscle contraction, nociception, synaptic transmission, and inflammation. Significantly, this receptor family is therefore a promising target for small molecules that can be used for new drugs.

No stranger to honors, Mansoor also received the ASCI’s 2018 Young Physician-Scientist Award, as well as funding through the Gilead Research Scholars Award, the Silver Family Foundation Faculty Excellence and Innovation Award, and am NIH Director’s New Innovator Award.  His new award comes with an honorarium of $30,000 to support his research as well as automatic membership in the ASCI. Other members of the ASCI include OHSU’s Brian Druker, David Jacoby, Sanjiv Kaul, and Richard Goodman.

Read more about the award here.

Leave a Reply

Share This